Weekly Underrated

As far as rowdy Irish-punk music, we tend to only think of the heavyweights who dominate the category: The Pogues, Flogging Molly, Dropkick Murphys and maybe just maybe Flatfoot 56.

As far as a band, especially a song, that is way underrated in this particular category, it is none other than “Mad Men” by The Briggs.

The song, to put it simply, is insane. From the second it starts you feel the need to stop your feet and clap your hands. There is none of the waiting around idly for the “good part” when it comes to “Mad Med.” On the recording of the song they even Ken Casey of Dropkick Murphys doing some guest vocals.

With a fast tempo, pounding rhythm and the vocals of Joey and Jason LaRocca (yes, brothers)- the song is everything Irish-punk should be.

I suggest you take a listen to this amazing song by an amazing band. I only wish they did more shows in Southern California because they seem like they would be so fun to see live!

About musicalmusingsandotherstuffbysima

I am currently studying journalism at Cal State Fullerton and I will graduate in 2013. I am a writer and have recently been promoted from my position as assistant to the Detour (Arts and Entertainment) section at The Daily Titan to the Editor of that section. I spend my time writing, editing, planning the stories that will run and communicating with my staff and freelance writers. This Spring I have the honor to go to Vietnam as part of a medical mission, where I will shadow doctors and report on the conditions, people and circumstances that I face and experience. I love music, my dog, coffee, nachos, and Sailor Jerry rum. This blog started out as a tribute to live music and my favorite performers, but is now being expanded to show more of what I have done and can do in the writing world. I hope you enjoy my musical musings! View all posts by musicalmusingsandotherstuffbysima

Leave a comment